SEN Hero

7th Annual Environmental Activism Awards

The Saskatchewan Eco Network held its 7th Annual Environmental Activist Awards at the Timlin Neatby Theatre on March 27th, 2009 as part of SEN's Environmental Film Festival, See the Change Be the Change. This year a number of fine individuals and groups received awards:

David Greenfield has been an activist in the ecological movement in Saskatchewan since the mid 1980s, when he became involved in opposing uranium mining in Saskatchewan, and the nuclear industry as a whole. From the mid 1980s onward, he also began writing songs in response to various issues and events with which he was involved, including nuclear issues. In several instances, he has been able to combine his activism and his art, by performing his songs at rallies, benefits and in front of environmental review panels, and by producing a benefit CD for ICUC, with several other musicians in 2000.

Last summer a group of young people held a very ambitious environmental festival. We Are Many (WAM) organised an entirely youth-run launch that attracted almost 15,000 participants; the WAM Festival featured 34 skills workshops, innumerable performances, and nearly 100 booths in the info fair, and was the first event of its size to operate in the complete absence of bottled water. WAM received our first ever Youth Award.

The Congregation of St. Thomas Wesley was nominated by one of their parishioners and the Board of SEN found that they were a worthy group that lived and practiced environmentalism. They have been active in the in-depth study of numerous environmental issues and sponsored a pilgrimage to the tar sands in 2009.

Montgomery School "Green Team" teachers and students have implemented a very consistent approach to recycling and awareness of personal responsibility in protecting the environment. Montgomery Green Team has had special recognition as a Green School - Emerald status. "“Helping the Planet one green deed at a time”.

Jim and Marion Penna have devoted their lives to environmental and social justice. It was during the Warman Refinery Hearings in 1979 that they became active in promoting a nuclear free society. Jim became a founding member of the Inter-Church Uranium Committee and from then on both became active in opposing the nuclear chain. They have been educating people on the hazards or uranium mining and nuclear energy for more than thirty years.

Judy Montgomery has been volunteering with the Saskatchewan Environmental Society for the past 20 years. She has contributed in a selfless capacity in raising awareness about how individuals can make a difference in the home and school environments. Judy has been a leader and team player in many environmental initiatives such as: Destination Conservation, Hike Bike and Bus Week, Green Saskatoon and has also volunteered as a speaker at various public events. She has also, after significant personal investment, become a Master Composter through the Saskatchewan Waste Reduction Council.

Bill Adamson was awarded a lifetime achievement award. Bill Adamson, is a retired Professor of Pastoral Theology, past President of St. Andrews Theological College, University of Saskatchewan, and member of the Saskatchewan Conference of the United Church. Bill has been raising the issue of Alpha radiation on the health of uranium miners in Saskatchewan. He has been monitoring the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission reports and has been making submissions to CNSC for decades.

Congratulations to all of the recipients!